8 WMU Soccer players earn All-MAC team and honored with Coach and Player of the Year

Brandon Bye named 2017 MAC Player of the Year. (WWMT Andy Pepper)

The MAC regular-season champion Western Michigan University Broncos Men’s Soccer team raked in the postseason honors on Thursday.

A program-record five Broncos were named to the All-Mid-American Conference First Team, including the 2017 Mid-American Conference Men’s Soccer Player of the Year, Brandon Bye.

WMU Broncos Soccer Head Coach Chad Wiseman was also honored as the 2017 Gary V. Palmisano Coach of the Year.

Wiseman, who led the fourth ranked Broncos to a school record 15 wins, won his second Coach of the Year award in the last three seasons.

Bye, a former Portage Northern star, was the first Bronco to be honored as MAC Player of the year.

Bye lead the conference with 12 goals and 29 points. He also leads in shots and is fourth in assists.

Bye joined on the First Team All-MAC by former Loy Norrix star Jay McIntosh, Zach Bock, Drew Shepherd and Tommy Clark.

Kosti Moni, Jake Rufe, and Ben Thornton, with WMU Soccer were also named to the Second Team All-MAC.

The 2017 MAC Men’s Soccer Championship will start 2 p.m. Friday at Western Michigan University were number top-seed WMU will take on #4 West Virginia. The game will be broadcast on ESPN3.